Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Fleur du Cap Nominee List 2013

Wow. Here is the list of nominees for the annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards. I think there are a great number of very strong actors, students, directors and productions this year and I am so far beyond excited to be a part of such a talented group.

Best Performance by an actor
Bongile Mantsai for Mies Julie as John
Elton Landrew for Boesman & Lena as Boesman
Gideon Lombard for The View as Young Man
Jeremy Crutchley for Sacred Elephant as Everyman.

Best Performance by an actress

Anthea Thompson for Kingdom of Earth as Myrtle
Bo Petersen for Statements after an Arrest under the Immorality Act as Frieda Joubert
Hilda Cronjé for Mies Julieas Julie
Quanita Adams for Boesman & Lena as Lena.

Best Supporting Actor

Adam Neill for Champ as Waldo
David Dennis for A Midsummer Night's Dream as Nick Bottom/Pyramus
Gideon Lombard for Special Thanks to Guests from Afar as Markus Weitig
Mbulelo Grootboom for Just Business as Mabuso.

Best Supporting Actress

Ella Gabriel for The View as Various Characters
Emily Child for King Lear (This Time it Hurts) as Regan
Jennie Reznek for Autopsy as Madam Shu and Others
Thoko Ntshinga for Mies Julie as Christine 

Best Performance by an actor in music theatre and/or a musical

Danny Butler for Kat and the Kings as Kat Diamond
Dean Balie for Kat and the Kings as Young Kat Diamond
Jonathan Roxmouth for Topsy Turvy as Various Characters
Sasha Halhuber for Cabaret as Emcee

Best Performance by an actress in music theatre and/or a musical

Aviva Pelham for Santa's Story as Various Characters
Kate Normington for Menopause the Musical as Soap Star
Samantha Peo for Cabaret as Sally Bowles
Sivan Raphaely for From the Mouths of Babes as Herself.

Best Performance by a supporting actor in music theatre and/or a musical

Carlo Daniels forKat and the Kings as Ballie
Grant Peres for Kat and the Kings as Bingo
Peter Court for Cabaret as Herr Schultz
Zakariyah Toerien for Kat and the Kings as Magoo

Best Performance by a supporting actress in music theatre and/or a musical

Amy Trout forKat and the Kings as Lucy Dixon
Charon Williams-Ros for Cabaret as Fräulein Schneider
Kate Normington for Cabaret as Fräulein Kost
Londiwe Dhlomo for Cabaret as Texas.

Best Performance in a cabaret/revue/one person show

Daneel van der Walt for Big Girl as Big Girl
James Cuningham for Sunday Morning as Mat
Jeremy Crutchley for Sacred Elephant as Everyman
Lynita Crofford for An Audience with Miss Hobhouse as Emily Hobhouse and Others.

Most Promising Student Award

Ella Gabriel (UCT)
Roelof Storm (UCT)
Chrisma Van Zyl (University Stellenbosch)
Stefan Erasmus (UCT). 

Best Director

James Ngcobo for Boesman & Lena
Mandla Mbothwe for Did We Dance: The Sinking of the SS Mendi
Matthew Wild for The Comedy of Errors
Yael Farber for Mies Julie.

Best Lighting Design

Faheem Bardien for A Midsummer Night's Dream
Kobus Rossouw for The Comedy of Errors
Patrick Curtis for Did We Dance: The Sinking of the SS Mendi
Paul Abrams for Mies Julie

Best Set Design

Fred Abrahamse for Kingdom of Earth
Leopold Senekal for Did We Dance: The Sinking of the SS Mendi
Patrick Curtis for Doodsnikke
Patrick Curtis for Mies Julie.

Best Costume Design

Angela Nemov for The Comedy of Errors
Illka Louw for Sacred Elephant
Marcel Meyer for Kingdom of Earth
Neil Stuart-Harris for Cabaret.

Best Original Score and/or Sound Design

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder (original score) for Kingdom of Earth
Charl-Johan Lingenfelder for A Midsummer Night's Dream
Daniel Pencer and Matthew Pencer (original music) for Mies Julie
David Kramer and Taliep Petersen (original score) for Kat and the Kings.

Best New SA Script

Bench by Brent Palmer
Champ by Louis Viljoen
Mies Julie by Yael Farber
Sunday Morning by Nick Warren

Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for new directors - Greg Karvallas for Champ; Kim Kerfoot forStatements after an Arrest under the Immorality Act; Michael Kirch for Bench; Philip Rademeyer forThe View

And, you can now vote for the People's Choice Award by texting 'FDC' to 33783. Click on the link and select your favourite play of 2012. R1.50 for the text.

I do hope that soon the theatre making students will be recognized for their work by the Fleur du Cap awards, too.

I feel a little like this today:

Thank you, FDC.

No comments:

Post a Comment